Gregg Jones

Executive Vice President, APG

Divisional President
APG East

The Greeneville Sun, Greeneville, TN


Gregg Jones has served as Executive Vice President of the family-owned Adams Publishing Group, LLC (APG) since Sept. 1, 2016. He also serves as President of APG East, a division within APG, and as Publisher of The Greeneville (Tenn.) Sun. Prior to joining APG, Jones served for several years as president, chairman, and CEO of Jones Media, Inc. (JMI), sold to APG in 2016, and as a member of a multi-generation East Tennessee newspaper family. As president of JMI, Jones supervised the operations of his family’s media interests.

Jones is past chairman of the Newspaper Association of America, now known as NewsMedia Alliance.

He is also a past-president, director, and committee chairman of the Southern Newspaper Publishers Association, has served multiple terms as trustee of the SNPA Foundation, and recently stepped down as treasurer of the SNPAF.

Jones served three terms on the board of the Associated Press and has been a member of the Regional Advisory Board for the American Press Institute, based in Northern Virginia. He is a past president of the Tennessee Press Association and has served numerous terms as TPA director, committee chairman and Government Affairs Committee member. He has served as president of the Tennessee Press Association Foundation for several years. Jones continues to serve on the boards of various media and media-related organizations throughout the United States. He has served for several years on the board of PAGE Cooperative (Publishers Associated to Gain Economy), the largest purchasing cooperative in the newspaper industry, and recently stepped down after three years as its chairman.

In addition to his professional involvements, Jones has served as president of the East Tennessee Foundation, a director of the Greene County Partnership, a director of the Open Spaces Conservancy in Northeast Tennessee, and as president of Morgan Square, Inc. He is a past president of the Greeneville Exchange Club, Main Street: Greeneville, Inc., and the United Way of Greene County. Until recently, he served as Vice President for Northeast Tennessee of the East Tennessee Historical Society. He is a board member of the East Tennessee Historical Society Foundation, an honorary board member of the Greene County Heritage Trust, and a patron of Greeneville Theatre Guild.

Jones was the 2002 recipient of the Dr. L.E. Coolidge Award for Humanitarian Service for Greene County, Tennessee, given by Takoma Adventist Hospital. In 2013, the Southern Newspaper Publishers Association presented Jones in Sarasota, Fla., with the Frank W. Mayborn Leadership Award, SNPA’s highest award. Later that year Jones received the national Significant Sig Award by the Sigma Chi fraternity. In October 2014, Jones became the recipient in Chicago, Illinois, of the Ralph D. Casey/Minnesota award for “enduring achievements, a distinguished record of service and leadership to the newspaper industry.” He has been the recipient of many other awards.

Born Dec. 18, 1949, in Greeneville, Tenn., Jones, who is married to Katharine Rasin Meek, received a BA in History from Hampden-Sydney College.